Port Browning Sail In and Annual Meeting May 21 & 22


It was a very high tide on the evening of May 21st so instead of the beach, we had the group dinner and annual meeting at the premier campsite at Pt. Browning Marina that BCMS Director Ron Tomas had managed to snag.  There was a picnic table plus lots of camp chairs and planks to sit on so it was much more comfortable than our usual beach experience.



Fifteen  members attended the Annual Meeting and this constituted a quorum.    The 2010 financial statements were approved as well as the budget for 2011.  Directors elected were Bob Davis, Ron Tomas, Stu Kerr, Wayne Carlson, Alec Mackenzie, Marlene Mackenzie and Jamie McKerrow.   The President asked if anyone else wanted to serve on the board and there were no volunteers.  It was agreed that holding the annual meeting at Pt Browning allowed more members to attend.


The Fun race started at noon on Sunday.  For once there was enough wind for everyone to easily get around the course.  First in the Cruiser Class was Dutch Treat followed by Sweet Heart and Simone.   Sauterelle won the Racer Division, Mad Kiwi was second and Kitty Litter third.   Roy Mills was at the helm of Mad Kiwi for much of the race and it was thought that this might be the reason for her excellent performance.


As usual, the prize giving dinner was held at the Marina’s restaurant Sunday night.  Instead of a set meal or buffet as in past years, we were allowed to just order off the menu.  This allowed a better selection and a more reasonable price.  As well as prizes for the race winners there were also quite a few door prizes for other attendees.



Leave a Reply